The other evening I was driving somewhere and tuned in (partway through I must admit) to a CBC radio program where renowned primatologist, Jane Goodall was being interviewed ( I have since listened to the entire interview online). Now you may ask yourself …what has she got to do with handmade, but just walk with me and we’ll see where it leads. I listened while she and the interviewer discussed human beings responsibility to the many species of plant, animal, and (something I never even considered) micro organisms that have become extinct; as well as those that are on the brink of extinction due to the megalomaniacal attitudes of some of our fellow humans (my words not theirs).

Where extinction is looming for certain primates a direct line can be drawn in some cases to the poaching of these animals. Yet you can’t just expect the local people to stop poaching when it is the way that they feed their families. (Now don’t get me wrong I am aware that deforestation, and logging does untold damage that is much more visible). Ms. Goodall suggests that alternative ways to make a living is needed so they can prosper alongside the animals in their areas. In response to this she has just launched her line of Fairly Traded Organic Coffee grown in various areas in Africa by locals to encourage them to look to alternative, sustainable ways of making a living.

She said that it costs more for the consumer to purchase but those of us who “get it” meaning understand that all the links in the chain from field to store shelf have been dealt with in a fair and equitable way; don’t mind don’t mind being a conscientious consumer and exercise the power that we carry around in our wallets.

Now, as it relates to handicrafts; as I listened to this program I found my mind saying that the people of many of these so called third world, under developed, or developing countries, call them what you may, need representation similar to the way Jane Goodall is the voice of primates, if you will. We need to speak out for those whose culture and traditions are being poached into extinction, for a bigger profit margin.

When shopping look for fair trade certified product. I know that it is harder with handicrafts, but ask anyway. Ask if they are fair trade certified if not, ask about their origins. If you are getting it cheap thinking that you got a “GOOD DEAL” it is very likely that the people who made it got a “RAW” one.

Here is the link to the interview:

http://www.cbc.ca/thecurrent/episode/2012/09/19/jane-goodall-on-environmental-ethics/